Mossley AFC

Match report

Robinsons Brewery Premier Cup Final

Robinsons Brewery Premier Cup Final
Mossley AFC v Curzon Ashton FC Park
Wednesday 22 April

Match report

It took penalties to separate the 2015 Robinsons Brewery Premier Cup finalists as Mossley AFC lifted the famous Manchester County FA trophy.

Lilywhite John Bennett struck from distance to bring the tie to life after just eight seconds, before his opener was cancelled out by Jordan Wright with the game fast approaching its conclusion.

Substitute Ashley Stott fired over the decisive penalty as Pete Brand’s men secured their third Premier Cup in four years.

Bennett’s early strike caught everyone off-guard. After an impeccable show of remembrance for the contribution of our late President Frank Hannah, Bennett announced Mossley’s arrival by netting from 20 yards.

Neither side could have expected the net the bulge so early on in the tie, and you can only imagine that it was game plan out of the window for Ashton boss John Flanagan before he’d even taken to his seat.

Nonetheless Curzon are flying high in the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League table this season and they responded well against their First Division counterparts. Containing any further potential shocks, the Nash retained possession and steadily began to press the Mossley defence.

Thomas Souvemanien let fly with Curzon’s first chance, curling a 25-yard effort towards goal that Andrew Farrimond did well to turn away.

Ryan Brooke went close when Darren Thornton flashed the ball across goal, only to skew wide, before Souvemanien again threatened the Lilywhites with a headed effort from the resulting corner.

But for an excellent piece of defending, Flanagan’s men could have pulled level just moments later. Alex Brown played a cute ball over the top for Brooke who, having set himself up to lob over Farrimond, was well intercepted by a timely Ryan Barrow.

Mossley toiled to re-assert themselves, but only Porya Ahmadi’s acrobatic effort came anywhere close to doubling their lead before the break.

It was a different story in the early stages of the second half when Tom Pratt’s incisive through-ball cut open the Curzon defence to play Ahmadi through on goal. Hakan Burton was equal to it, however, and palmed away to safety.

Clever footwork from Pratt again caused the opposition problems, but was unable to provide the end product that the supposed underdogs desired.

Curzon regained a foothold as the tie wore on and Joe Guest really should have drawn the two finalists level when he met Niall Cummins cross, only to direct his attempt wide of the post.

Cummins almost scored himself when Brooke’s inviting cross glanced off the top of his head but he couldn’t make the necessary connection.

Brooke and Daniel Shaw both saw chances come and go but it was Jordan Wright who would deal the crucial blow and take the tie to penalties, thumping low past Farrimond with only three minutes left on the clock to take the tie to penalties.

Despite slotting home their first spot-kick, Curzon were unable to convert any of their proceeding three and the night belonged to Mossley whose affinity with this prestigious competition goes on.

The teams

Mossley AFC (4-1-3-1-1): Andrew Farrimond; 2 Caldon Henderson, 4 Josh Granite, 6 Kyle McGonigle, 8 Ryan Barrow; 3 John Bennett, 5 Aaron Hevingham; 10 Tom Pratt, 9 Andy Keogh (c), 7 Mike Fish, 11 Porya Ahmadi.

Substitutes: 14 Sam Robinson for Ahmadi (72).

Substitutes not used: 12 Tom Dean, 13 Liam Flynn, 14 Sam Robinson, 15 Charlie Anderson, 16 Danny McDonnell.

Goals: John Bennett (1).

Cautions: Ryan Barrow (24), Aaron Hevingham (62), Tom Pratt (66).

Curzon Ashton (4-1-3-2): 1 Hakan Burton; 8 Chris Rowney, 6 Jonathan Hunt, 4 Daniel Shaw, 6 Darren Thornton; 2 Thomas Souvemanien; 7 Jordan Wright, 10 Alex Brown (c), 3 Joe Guest; 9 Niall Cummins, 11 Ryan Brooke.

Substitutes: 16 Luke Horrocks for Souvemanien (61), 14 Ashley Stott for Rowney (81).

Substitutes not used: 12 Lee Pugh, 13 Matthew Crothers, 15 Cameron Mason.

Goals: Jordan Wright (87).

Caution: Joe Guest (41).

Referee: John Walton.

Att: 561.